I. Israel’s Kingdom Regeneration. II. Messianic Prophecy 1-9. III. Messiah Returns To Nazareth.

I. Israel’s Kingdom Regeneration.

A. The nation of  Israel is to experience a conversion, which will prepare them to meet the Messiah and to be in His millennial kingdom. Paul establishes the fact that this conversion is effected at the second advent, for he writes: 

“And so all Israel shall be saved: as it is written, “There shall come out of Zion the Deliverer; He shall turn away ungodliness from Jacob. For this is my covenant unto them, when I shall take away their sins” [Rom. 11:26-27]. 

B. Once again we find that this is a major theme of the prophetic writings. A few references will suffice. 

1. Zion shall be redeemed with judgment, and her converts with righteousness [Isa. 1:27]

2. He that remains in Jerusalem, shall be called holy. When the Lord shall have washed away the filth of the daughter of Zion, and shall have purged the blood of Jerusalem. [Isa. 4:3-4]. 

3. In his days Judah shall be saved, and Israel shall dwell safely: and this is his name whereby he shall be called, THE LORD OUR RIGHTEOUSNESS [Jer. 23:6]. 

4. And I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the Lord; they shall be my people, and I will be  be their God; for they shall return unto me with their whole hearts [Jer. 24:7]. 

5. I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people. And they shall teach no more every man his neighbor, and every man his brother, saying, “Know the Lord: for they shall all know me, from the least of them unto the greatest of them, says the Lord: for I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more” [Jer. 31:33-34]. 

6. And I will give them one heart, and I will put a new spirit within them; and I will take the stony heart out of their flesh, and will give them an heart of flesh [Ezek. 11:19]. 

7. Then will I sprinkle water upon you, and you shall be clean; from all your filthiness, and from all your idols, will I cleanse you. A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you [Ezek. 36:25-26]. 

8. And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be delivered: for in mount Zion and in Jerusalem shall be deliverance [Joel 2:32]. 

9. Who is a God like You, that pardons iniquity, and passes by the transgression of the remnant of His heritage? He retains not his anger for ever, because He delights in mercy. He will turn again, He will have compassion upon us; He will subdue our iniquities; and You will cast all their sins into the depths of the sea [Mic. 7:18-19]. 

10. I will also leave in the midst of you an afflicted and poor people, and they shall trust in the name of the Lord. The remnant of Israel shall not do iniquity, or speak lies; neither shall a deceitful tongue be found in their mouth: for they shall feed and lie down, and none shall make them afraid [Zeph. 3:12-13]. 

11. In that day there shall be a fountain opened to the house of David and to the inhabitants of Jerusalem for sin and for uncleanness [Zech. 13:1]. 

12. And it shall come to pass, that in all the land, says Yahweh, two parts therein shall be cut off and die; but the third shall be left therein. And I will bring the third part into the fire, and will refine them as silver is refined, and will try them as gold is tried. They shall call on my name, and I will hear them: I will say, It is my people; and they shall say, Yahweh is my God. [Zech. 13:8-9]. [(God’s judgment of Israel at the return of Messiah will weed out all but one-third of them. These will constitute the “all Israel” that will be saved (Rom 11:26)]

C. Since no unsaved person is to enter the Kingdom, Israel anticipated a conversion that would prepare them for this promised kingdom. The second advent will witness this conversion of the nation, that is, all true Israel, so the covenants given to them may find fulfillment during the age of the Messiah’s reign. 

II. Messianic Prophecy. 


The Prophecies Of Messiah (1-9). (P= Prophetic Verse; F=Fulfillment Verse).

1. P. He would be born of a woman (Gen 3:15). F. Lk 2:7; Gal 4:4.

2. P. He would be from the line of Abraham (Gen 12:3, 7; 17:7). F. Rom 9:5; Gal 3:16. 

3. P. He would be from the tribe of Judah (Gen 49:10). F. Heb 7:14; Rev 5:5. 

4. P. He would be from the house of David (2 Sam 7:12-13). F. Lk 1:31-33; Rom 1:3. 

5. P. That He would be born of a virgin (Isa 7:14). F. Mt 1:22-23. 

6. P. He would be given the throne of David (2 Sam 7:11-12; Ps 132:11; Isa 9:6-7; 16:5; Jer 23:5; Lk 1:31-32). F. Rev 5:1-7; 22:16.

7. P. His throne would be an eternal throne (Dan 2:44; 7:14, 27; Mic 4:7; Lk 1:33). F. Rev 11:15; 20:4.

8. P. He would be called Emmanuel (Isa 7:14). F. Mt 1:23.

9. P. He would have a forerunner (Isa 40:3-5; Mal 3:1). F. Mt 3:1-3; Lk 1:76-78; 3:3-6.

III. Messiah Returns To Nazareth. Matthew 13:53-58.

After concluding His discourse at the Sea of Galilee, Christ went back to Nazareth. In His earlier visit, recorded in Luke 4:16-29, although some commended His gracious words (v. 22), others challenged His claim to be a prophet, and, when rebuked by Christ, attempted to throw Him over a cliff (vv. 23-29). In this second and last visit to Nazareth, the same rejection occurred, though this time, less violently. They recalled that He was Joseph’s son and that His brothers and sisters lived among them. Again, as in the earlier visit, Christ stated, “A prophet is not without honor, save in his own country, and in his own house” (Mt 13:57). Their unbelief barred mighty works such as had occurred elsewhere. This final touch, emphasizing His rejection by His own city and His own people, was part of the larger rejection summarized in John 1:11, “He came unto his own, and his own received him not.”

Author: Eternity

The Church is the Church, and Israel is Israel. The Church did not replace Israel, and is not spiritual Israel. In the New Testament, “church” and “Israel” are mentioned as being separate entities. In the New Testament “church” is mentioned 112 times; Israel is mentioned 79 times; both are mentioned as being separate entities The Kingdom “has not yet come,” and will not come until the Jewish bloodline of Israel accepts God’s chosen king (Deuteronomy 17:15), which will take place at the end of the Tribulation when the nation of Israel faces decimation and calls on Messiah, Christ, in faith, to save them (Zechariah 12:10). Individual salvation is of the Jews (John 4:22), and comes through Christ (John 14:6). Things are discussed in this website that relate to God’s creation, from “eternity to eternity,” and all that is addressed within those parameters. Consider Isaiah 43:13, “Even from eternity I am He, And there is no one who can rescue from My hand; I act, and who can reverse it?” The Moody Study Bible adds a comment: “God is the ruler of all, and there is nothing that can stand against Him. His will is irresistible. The Bible Knowledge Commentary adds this thought: “No one can reverse what God puts into action or thwart His plans.” The articles that are found in this site may relate to anything that is found in the Bible, from Genesis 1:1 to Revelation 22:21. I would like to add a word of caution concerning blog writing and personal security. Many of my followers reside in foreign lands, of which many are hostile to the Word of God. Therefore, I will not provide my name, place of residence, or anything else that could lead a person to know anything about me. I recommend that all writers adopt the same method of personal security.

Leave a comment